29-31 July 2021
University of Stavanger
Europe/Oslo timezone

The 2021 XQCD PhD school is an accompanying event to the 18th International Conference on QCD in Extreme Conditions (XQCD 2021) and the 14th Quark Confinement and the Hadron Spectrum Conference (ConfXIV).

The school will be held at the University of Stavanger from July 29th to July 31st 2021, just before the 2021 ConfXIV conference, which also takes place at the University of Stavanger from August 2nd to August 7th 2021 and one week before the XQCD 2021 conference, which takes place at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology from August 9th to August 11th, 2021. 

Application & Registration for the 2021 XQCD PhD school is open and application will be received until March 23rd 2021. A recommendation letter from the PhD supervisor is required for an application. There will be no participation fee and financial support for flights to Trondheim to attend the XQCD conference will be made available for participating students. A decision will be made by the local organizing committee of the 2021 XQCD conference until April 3rd 2021, after which the successful candidates will be contacted.

NOTE: In order to apply and register you need to create a user account on the UiS indico system. After clicking on the "Application & Registration" link in the main menu you will be led to a login screen. Please choose the "create one here" link to preceed.

The school will feature block lectures 6 x 45min on four research areas, which are central elements of the studies presented at the XQCD conference, providing an in-depth review of these fields for PhD students:

  • Lattice QCD in extreme conditions
  • Neutron stars & multi-messenger physics
  • Modern perturbation theory
  • QCD in relativistic heavy-ion collisions

The lectures will be given by internationally recognized theoretical physicists.

  • Gergely Endrődi (U.-Frankfurt) (tentative)
  • Toru Kojo (CCNU)
  • Jacopo Ghiglieri (CERN)
  • Aleksi Kurkela (CERN/UiS)

University of Stavanger
Kjølv Egelands hus KE-101
Campus Ullandhaug